All Ah We

It is 8 o’clock on a Monday morning and instead of watching Good Morning America as usual, I am tuned into CBC-8, awaiting the start of Grand Kadooment!

Grand Kadooment Revelers
Grand Kadooment Revelers

I watched eagerly as each band of revelers gathered at Kensington Oval to go before the judges who would award points based on costume, theme, presentation. Every group came forth around the track and jumped up donning their carnival best. Xhosa, Walk Holy, Baje, Blue Box Cart, Zulu International

They all wined their way around the track and onto Spring Garden Highway. Once we saw that the bands were nearing our condo, we slithered down a side street and made our way to the parade route and Bridgetown Market. We stood about with onlookers from all over the world. I even ran into a fellow Georgia Southern University alum!

Georgia Southern University - True Blue!
Georgia Southern University – True Blue!

Amidst all the colorful feathers and boisterous fanfare, my favorite observation was perhaps the love and respect festival-goers paid to my mother.

Friendly carnival-goer from the States stopped to dance with my mom - wheelchair style!
Friendly carnival-goer from the States stopped to dance with my mom – wheelchair style!

Young Barbadian sailors helped lift my mom over the curb to gain a prime seat out of the rain and everyone we saw waved at her and made sure to include her in their fun. While this is a reaction I would occasionally see in the United States, there seemed to be a conscious effort for inclusion and togetherness. Men told her she was beautiful (despite my father’s very strong presence). Needless to say, I am very pleased with the spirit of Barbados thus far.

Leave a comment